Oh, hello.

Standard

I’ve never blogged before, but I’ve been wanting to for quite some time. So a rainy wednesday in early September seemed like the perfect time. I suppose the introduction should be saved for the ABOUT page, but I’ll give a brief one here anyway. (Clearly I’m new to this.)

My name is Antoinette. It’s a family name and it’s very formal and old fashioned (and pretty a lot of people say). Most of my friends and acquaintances call me Toni. You can call me either.

here I am

I write for a Boston-based online news & entertainment publication with an LGBT audience & theme. I’m exploring some new avenues to try to pursue writing professionally, and I’m looking to spend more time and get more into writing for ME. (Me, not Maine)

I also bartend at night. I’m pretty good at it. There may be a few cocktail recipes, customer rants, and/or tasty craft beer finds up in here.

Travel is my favorite thing in the world. Since I’m on a tight budget, I won’t be taking any major trips in the next couple months, but I do try to squeeze in little getaways wherever and whenever I can. I think I’ll probably end up doing some retrospective blogs about trips I’ve taken in the past as well. Always fun to look back, right?

The beach is my place of serenity. I love sleeping in the sand, the sound of waves crashing in the background, relaxing with a good book (or a trashy magazine) and feeling the hot sun beat down on my skin. I love the smell of the ocean, the way it feels when its late in the summer and warmer than usual and so clear you can see to the bottom (this is particularly important to me since I am afraid of crabs). I love quiet private beaches where I can forget everything and just enjoy my moments.

I also love the mountains and hiking. I’m no expert, but I like a good jaunt through the woods and I am a sucker for spectacular views.

Some other things I love are Food, Drinks and Coffee. I mentioned the drinks part before, but coffee for me is in a category all its own. Love the stuff, can’t get enough. No literally, can not get enough. Drinking coffee is part automated life response and part ritualistic bliss. I drink a lot of it. A LOT. I love trying new coffees and new coffee shoppes. One of my favorite parts of traveling is trying out the local coffee stops.

Food is love for me. Not much more to say. You’re gonna see some food in these pages. let the salivating commence.

I try to be a good citizen, locally and globally. I’ve organized several fundraisers and donation drives and I try to GIVE what I can for time and resources to make my community and world a little tiny bit better. We’re all connected, I think. And Compassion and Respect for your fellow humans goes a long way in this world and can bring about contentment and satisfaction beyond belief.

So, I guess that was a sufficient thought-vomit for my first post. Hope you enjoyed! Stay tuned for more, starting with a mini getaway to Cape Cod tomorrow!

-ct

About theawheel

Hi. My name is Antoinette Weil. I'm a twenty something writer, bartender, dreamer, explorer. Always looking for the next best thing. My passions: Travel Writing Reading Food Drinks Coffee (yes, this is in a category all its own) the Beach Music Love Family Grammar I was told once by a loved one that my top lip resembled the beak of a snapping turtle. I'll post a picture so you can judge for yourself. I decided to create this blog to document some of my adventures, encounters, thoughts and questions. Thus: the curious turtle. Hope you enjoy :}

3 responses »

  1. I’ve decided to call you Antionette because I have always loved the name and everyone I know with it goes by a nickname! I enjoyed reading your first blog and wanted to respond. I am also a coffee lover, but sadly cannot drink anywhere near as much as I want to… 😦 I’ll just live vicariously thru your coffee adventures.
    I would like to make a request… I believe you have a unique perspective on the world and would love to see occassional pics – unusual rocks, a beach, the view you wake up to on Cape Cod… whatever, but thru your eyes and not the usual touristy stuff. I think that would be a great addition to your posts! Looking forward to your next post!
    Write On!
    Gailapeach

Leave a Reply

