Birthdays and Bachelorettes

Standard

What a busy weekend!

Yesterday we had a birthday party at my parents house for my adorable soon-to-be three year old niece Sophia.

Here’s the Birthday Princess now.

“Is that for me?”
Looking out the window at all the brightly colored boxes and bags coming into the house.

While everyone was eating pizza and chips, Sophia decided it was time to enjoy a healthy Birthday Banana. Kids are awesome.

After the party As the Party continued, I had to get ready and duck out early to catch the 3:26 train to North Station. I was taking the commuter rail to Noth Station, hopping on the Green Line to Park Street and then getting on the Red Line to Harvard Square all to meet up with a group of girls I’d never met at a chinese joint in Cambridge at an hour entirely too early for dinner. (I had been at a birthday party all day)

Why?

Cause SUZIE’S GETTING MARRIED!!!!

My old roommate from college (my first roommate and the only one I still refer to as my college roommate) is gettin’ hitched. So a bunch of us girls got together to throw her the best bachelorette party ever!

(side note: I have never actually been to a bachelorette party, so I don’t know if it was the best ever for anyone else. But I had fun!)te

We started off at Hong Kong in Harvard Square to fill our bellies with food and drinks before the main event. We all introduced ourselves and got acquainted over cocktails and trashy bachelorette accessories (glow sticks, glitter koozies, mardi gras beads and, of course, penis straws.)

We got tickets to see the Donkey Show at the Oberon Theater, which is less dirty than it sounds! I had never heard of this show before it was suggested that we get tickets, but apparently it has been around for quite a while and is hugely popular.

The Donkey Show is based on Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, but is set in a disco-club setting. Instead of the forest, the whole show takes place in Club Oberon. And the audience is part of the show. It happens all around you and is interactive. While you’re boogying down to your favorite 70’s disco hits, there is a story unfolding all around you. And this story involves a lot of half naked men and women and a LOT of glitter.

Seriously, a great time. I forgot my camera like a dumbass, but I got a couple of embarassing/awesome pictures of my bride-to-be-buddy which I would be happy to share with you 😉

Bride-to-Be up on a platform with the glitter guys

Just being a bachelorette, ya know.

End of the night. I think she had a good time.

The show was a blast. Totally different than anything I’d ever done, and less trashy and awkward than an actual stripper situation. Bonding over disco and alcohol was a great experience. All the girls were lovely and now that we’ve all met I think we’re all way more excited for the wedding. I know I am. Can’t wait to bust some more moves with my new friends and to congratulate my old friend on becoming a Mrs.  ❤

About theawheel

Hi. My name is Antoinette Weil. I'm a twenty something writer, bartender, dreamer, explorer. Always looking for the next best thing. My passions: Travel Writing Reading Food Drinks Coffee (yes, this is in a category all its own) the Beach Music Love Family Grammar I was told once by a loved one that my top lip resembled the beak of a snapping turtle. I'll post a picture so you can judge for yourself. I decided to create this blog to document some of my adventures, encounters, thoughts and questions. Thus: the curious turtle. Hope you enjoy :}

Leave a Reply

