On Time Management…

Standard

So, I suck at blogging.

I haven’t written a post in weeks.

I’ve had a lot of difficulty finding the time to do anything other than work. I have a night job, bartending, 4-5 nights a week. I’m a contributing news writer for an online publication, which works out to be only one article per week, but the amount of time that goes into tracking people down for interviews and sitting down writing ends up being pretty extensive. Certainly a lot of work for the money, but the experience is worth wayyy more. And seeing my stuff published is pretty sweet.

Lastly, I am working on an internship for a website called Literary Traveler, which, as the name suggests, combines the love for great literature and authors with the places that inspired them. It is a whole brand built on inspiration. So of course I wanted to be a part of it. I’m working on the business end, as a marketing assistant, working toward expanding the brand and pursuing collaborations and relationships with other great brands or companies that fit with our niche. This is an unpaid internship, so it’s not helping my bank account. But I really REALLY want to learn the skills. This stuff doesn’t come naturally to me. The ideas are a-flowin and I’m cool with the creative end, but figuring out how to put these ideas into motion, into action and results…well, that is another story. So what I’m hoping is that I’ll gain a real understanding, the learning-by-doing type, of the business side of creative ventures.

On top of all of this, I decided to start up another time consuming project, and signed myself up for the National Novel Writer’s Month challenge, or NaNoWriMo for those of you in the know. This is a challenge of 50,000 words in 30 days. I decided the blog had to be put on hiatus because completing this challenge was more inportant. And I’d still say it is…but I am very behind in that endeavor as well. I started off strong, very enthusiastic, was going to FINISH in the given 30 days. But…it was tough to stay on track. And I am way way off the track.

I know at this point the novel will not be finished by December 1. But I am making up my mind to continue writing it, albeit more slowly than I’d planned, until it is finished.

My question is how do people find the time for everything they want to do….when there’s so much they have to do? Am I really short on time…or motivation? How do you find what you’re meant to be doing, how do you do what you love, when working for survival takes up so much of your time and energy?

Big questions. Please let me know if you’ve got the answers….

About theawheel

Hi. My name is Antoinette Weil. I'm a twenty something writer, bartender, dreamer, explorer. Always looking for the next best thing. My passions: Travel Writing Reading Food Drinks Coffee (yes, this is in a category all its own) the Beach Music Love Family Grammar I was told once by a loved one that my top lip resembled the beak of a snapping turtle. I'll post a picture so you can judge for yourself. I decided to create this blog to document some of my adventures, encounters, thoughts and questions. Thus: the curious turtle. Hope you enjoy :}

One response »

Leave a Reply

